You are at:

End of year wrap

As this is my final report for the year I would like to take the opportunity to congratulate all the staff on an outstanding job in educating the children throughout the year.

The year has had many highlights, with many wonderful educational memories. All of this could only be achieved by the strong partnerships that we maintain throughout the year.

I would like to thank and acknowledge a number of groups; all the members of School Council for their work, all the parent volunteers, all the KG volunteers, the children and the staff.

Our transition day for 2014 went extremely well. We welcomed 18 new students and we moved into 13 classes across the school, where we reinforced how important it is to be respectful and to action on our school values on a daily basis. We will be welcoming four new staff members to our schools next year, which I will do in the very first newsletter of 2014.

But for now, we say goodbye to Jo Manning and thank her for her work with 5/6M, we also say goodbye to Francis Comber and thank him for his work with 5/6C, we also say goodbye to Meg Cox and thank her for her work at Drummond. Frances Glasson, after some Long Service Leave will retire at the end of term 1 next year. We look forward to acknowledging her teaching career next year. We farewell Annemarie and thank her for her work as a teacher aide and we say farewell to Mr T after thirteen years at Daylesford Primary. A BIG thank you to Chris and we wish him all the best in retirement.

After 12 years as our cleaner Paula Dewhurst is retiring. On behalf of the school a huge thank you to Paula for her dedication to the school for over a decade.

Our parent volunteer’s morning tea went very well. Again thank you to all the parents and community members who help across the school. We are so lucky to be a part of such a strong community.

Our Grade 5/6 presentation evening was outstanding and we wished all the Graduating students well.

Congratulations to all the award winners on the night :
Graham Dux Award – Sophie John & Marlon Toner-McLachlan
J Richards Award – Antigone Jonas
E E Leggo Award – Michael Pasahidis
Terry Brooker Award – Holly Armstrong
Murray Stewart Sports Award – Tom Henderson
Stella Armstrong Award - (Performing Arts) Chloe Wilkinson, and (Visual Arts) Alicia Rae
LOTE Italian Award – Ava Nance
Principal’s Award – Hannah Melen & Santino D’Onghia
Shire of Hepburn Citizenship Award – Max Anderson
DSC Bursary awards - Wyatt Cronin, Santino D’Onghia,Katie Dwyer, Hannah Melen, Alicia Rae &
Chloe Wilkinson

School Captains for 2014 – Kaiah McCahon & Austin Eaton

Our Family groups presented Christmas gifts to Daylesford Family services. It was wonderful to see the time and effort that went into this lovely gesture of good will.

The KG volunteer’s luncheon was well attended and Andrew, Gill and Jenni took the opportunity to say thanks to our ‘Treasures’.

The Grade 6 Dinner was a great success due to a dedicated band of parents.

Finally, at our last assembly Trefor John (our School Council President) presented the 2014 Cultural Awards. We also announced the 2014 School and House Captains and we said goodbye to our grade 6 students.

The Catherine King Award was presented to Chris Tsiplakis for his outstanding contribution to Daylesford Primary School.

I would like to wish everyone all the best for Christmas and the New Year and I will once again look to the new year for new and wonderful opportunities in education.

Peter Burke
 You are at: